Touching Jesus

You can read a short story in the Bible about a women with an issue of blood: Matthew 9:20-22, Mark 5:25-34, Luke 8:43-48. The Bible tells us that she had a disease, an issue of blood, and had been sick for 12 years. Back in those days, she was considered unclean. She was not able to enter into the temple or any kind of worship service. If she was married, she would have not been able to be with her husband. Because of being considered unclean, anyone she touched was also considered unclean. If another person touched her, they had a process that they would have to go through to be considered clean again. Historians even say that any item that she touched would be considered unclean as well. They say that more than likely with her condition, she probably had to live alone. When she did go out in public, she had to be extremely careful to not touch anything or anyone. I’m sure that she was probably known in her community for her condition. Everyone knew to stay clear from her to not risk contamination.

What a lonely 12 years she had to go through! No doubt she was very weak from her issue and possibly even suffering from being malnourished as she may not have always been able to prepare herself something to eat or even go for water. I’m sure she had her better days but she also had her worst. I wonder if she ever went to the gate of the temple or listened in on a worship service wishing that she could enter? I wonder if her family ever came to visit her or check in on her? I wonder how embarrassing it was for her to have to go out in public with everyone trying to avoid touching her? I bet she even suffered mentally as well — depression, anxiety, loneliness. This woman had to live a life of solitude basically for 12 long years. Some historians say that she very well could have been on the verge of a mental breakdown.

I’m so curious to know how she heard of Jesus. At some point, somehow, she began to hear about a man who was healing the sick and that he was coming through her town. What a hope she had to rise up within her! To become so daring as to go against customs to get to Jesus. The streets were crowded with people! People that she was not suppose to touch or they too would be considered unclean. In my imagination she knew she would have to prepare for such a task. I think she may have thought enough to even disguise herself from being recognized. People knew who she was so she understood that she would have to become inconspicuous to the public eye. I wonder how fast her heart raced when she approached the crowd and realized, if I’m gonna get to Jesus, I’m gonna have to touch people. So daring and courageous! What a hope she had! In fact, for someone with her condition to go out in public like that and knowingly come in direct contact with others could be risking their very own life for such actions. This women must have literally felt like that she had nothing left to be so daring as risking what life she had left to get to Jesus.

Some historians say she was crawling due to being so weak but others believe she may not have had any trouble walking. Regardless, one thing for sure is that she did not have much strength left within her body and pushing through a pressing crowd was definitely an obstacle for her. To have to push her way through a thronging crowd and not be recognized may have been the most scariest thing for her yet — risking her own life. Once she reached Jesus, I wonder if she hesitated a little or if she ever so quickly reached out in desperation. I wonder if the thought crossed her mind that if she did not get healed then he too would be considered unclean and so would all the others that she touched. I wonder if she remembered that whatever she touched was then considered unclean.

In faith she reached out and touched only the hem of His garment and was healed! What power was even in the hem of His garment! In Isaiah 6:1 it tells us about the garment of God being as a train that filled the temple. That word train translates to mean hem. The significance of her touching the hem of His garment is that she actually touched the garment of God that was being adorned by His Son, Jesus. I love that the cleanliness of God overpowered her unclean condition!

His cleanliness overpowers your dirtiness.

Oh, to have that courage and bravery! To not let my conditions, my circumstances, keep me held back and held down to not get to Jesus. I want her determination to motivate me to do whatever I need to do to get to Jesus for my needs. In all honesty, I may never have to fight all the obstacles that she had to just to get to Jesus. It has been made so much easier for us due to the cross. Yet, I make it so hard and so difficult like my problems are too great for Him to handle or they are too heavy for me to take to Him. There is absolutely nothing too small or too big that His Power cannot handle. It’s a beautiful thing to touch Jesus because in return He will touch you.

Leave a comment