God Sees You, Momma!

For the hard working Momma that feels like your work is never good enough, God sees you.

For the tired, wore out Momma that really just needs a nap, God sees you.

For the Momma that still seems so affected by all the postpartum struggles, God sees you.

For the Momma that fights all the anxieties of home duties, motherhood, and finances, God sees you.

For the Momma that shuts herself in the bathroom just to take a quick breather and fix your ponytail, God sees you.

This afternoon as I was becoming so overwhelmed with all the things I needed to do and take care of around the house, God reminded me that He sees me. He sees my emotions. He understands why am I am the way I am even when I don’t.

I was reminded of the story of Hagar in the Bible. The part of her story in Genesis 21 when Abraham sent her and her son, Ishmael, away. There she was in the hot desert, running low on water, no shelter, no place to call home, and her son was becoming dehydrated and was at the point of death. I cannot imagine the emotions that this Momma had! I don’t want to imagine that situation at all! The amount of stress that that Momma was under I’m sure was unbearable. She was at her wits end as she placed her son under a shrub and had to walk away just so she wouldn’t have to watch him die. That rips my heart out! The mental battle she was facing at that moment I’m sure was severe. It tells us that Hagar lifted up her voice and wept. I’m sure that Momma was for real doing some ugly crying no doubt!

But, the Bible goes on to tell us how God called out to her from Heaven and told her to, “Fear not!” He then went on and gave water to them and sustained them. As God was reminding me of this story, no my struggles are nothing life this Momma’s, but what I loved about this was how God seen her and knew her struggles as a Momma in those moments of emotional and physical despair. He reminded me that He simply sees me. In my home. As a Momma. As a wife. With laundry to do and a sink full of dishes. With the best intentions but tired mentally. He sees me. In my struggles.

It was just comforting to me to realize from a story in the Bible that God does see the Momma’s and He cares about what we care about. Maybe it hit no one else like it hit me this evening but I just felt like sharing for possibly another Momma who is just struggling with her emotions. God does see you, Momma!

The scriptures that came to mind tonight that I have been gleaning from are these:

The LORD is nigh unto them that are of a broken heart; and saveth such as be of a contrite spirit.

Psalm 34:18

And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.

II Corinthians 12:9-10

God sees you, Momma. He hears your cries. He understands your emotions and your broken heart. His strength is made perfect in weakness! When you are feeling weak, incapable, and not good enough, that’s where He wants to step in and give strength and peace. When we feel like we are at our weakest moments, that’s when He can make us the strongest!

God sees you, Momma! Cry out to him and let Him love on you. Let His peace rest upon you.

Leave a comment